Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsDallas Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
U.S. National Team


January 9, 2017
Carli Lloyd captures FIFA player of the year award

For the second straight year, U.S. forward Carli Lloyd has been named FIFA World Player of the Year.
For the second straight year, U.S. forward Carli Lloyd has been named FIFA World Player of the Year.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
U.S. Women’s National Team co-captain Carli Lloyd has been named Best FIFA Women's Player for the second consecutive year, becoming the fourth player to win the award in consecutive years.

Mia Hamm won the award in 2001 and 2002, the first two years of the award. Birgit Prinz of Germany won from 2003-05. Marta of Brazil won from 2006-10.

U.S. coach Jill Ellis, named Women’s World Coach of the Year in 2015, finished second in the voting behind Best FIFA Women's Coach winner Silvia Neid of Germany. Neid retired after leading the Germans to the Olympic gold medal in Brazil. Former U.S. coach Pia Sundhage of Sweden finished third.

Lloyd received the award at the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in Zurich Monday.

Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid and Portugal was named the Best FIFA Men's Player of the Year, and Italian Claudio Ranieri, who led Leicester City to the Premier League title, won the Best FIFA Men's Coach of the Year award.

"I'm very honored to win this award again," Lloyd said. "I play on the best team in the world and this award would not be possible without my extraordinary teammates, who are fantastic competitors. We push each other to be better every day. I want to thank Jill Ellis and the entire coaching staff for believing in me and helping me constantly evolve my game. Thank you to the people who voted for me and the fans for showing me such strong support throughout 2016. I want to also thank my husband Brian for the unconditional support he's provided throughout this special year. I am looking forward to the start of 2017 and long term, towards qualifying for the 2019 World Cup."

This marks the fifth time an American woman has been named FIFA Women's Player of the Year, following Abby Wambach in 2012 and Hamm in 2001 and 2002.

Lloyd finished first in voting by coaches and captains of women's national teams from around the world with 20.68% of the total votes, followed by Marta (16.60%) and Germany’s Melanie Behringer (12.34%).

Lloyd, 34, a 12-year veteran of the national team, has 232 caps, seventh most in U.S. history, and tied for the U.S. lead (with Alex Morgan) for goals scored in 2016, with 17 goals, including two in the 2016 Olympics. Lloyd also led the team in assists (11), her career high for a calendar year. Lloyd had four goals and two assists during the CONCACAF qualifying tournament.

Lloyd has 96 career goals, four from becoming the sixth player in U.S. history to score 100 or more international goals.

Representatives from Borussia Dortmund and Liverpool accepted the FIFA Fan Award, paying tribute to the Hillsborough disaster. Colombia’s Atletico Nacional won the FIFA Fair Player Award for honoring victims from the Chapecoense air disaster. Mohd Faiz Subri of Malaysia won the Puskas Award for the Best Goal of the Year.
Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2014 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved